A Recollection of this lovely Weekend (2nd Summer Reading Tour has begun & Sponsors/Mentors Connection Lunch)

Image

What a gloriously filled weekend this last weekend in June turned out to be! Well, Hello July!

When I look back on all that the Lord has done and all that He continues to do, not only in my life and my husband’s life but my dear friends, brothers and sisters in Christ all around me, I can truly say we are blessed!

O.k. first thing’s first! I love organizing fellowship opportunities for my sisters and girlies to minister, be ministered to and to connect. Especially now at a time when it is so easy to idle their time away during the holiday season, I am elated this Saturday’s Summer Reading tour program turned out to be a smashing success as we volunteered, toured, ate, read aloud, learned, gathered feedback and spent time with each other. More importantly I desire to pursue my passion, God’s calling on my life and encourage  others to do the same. Most importantly, it is important to me to glorify my maker and I’m not just saying that. Let me explain this a bit further:

Just a bit over a year ago, my husband and I went on what one could call a long sabbatical from the ministry of music. Even though my heart strings and spirit longed to simply do what I was created and did for as long as I could remember, worship, give my all and be completely involved. God had other plans during this time and season of rest. I’m happy I had no other choice. If you read my previous blog posts, you’ll see just what I am talking about.

During this season of rest and being in a form of wilderness, the Lord developed other areas in my life: My prayer life, my educational pursuits in the Word of God, completing my second book, writing and copyrighting songs, building and dedicating time to quality community non-profit programming and last but surely not least, investing in my marriage and family first.

I believe we all should take the time to reflect, revise and renew ourselves in the Lord, no matter how young or old you believe you are, if you are involved in ministry. You can’t keep pouring out without taking the time to recharge and plug into the one true anointed source. I’ve learned we should be doing this daily through prayer. Remember Paul’s admonish to Pray without ceasing? (1Thessalonians 5:17)

I’m not exactly at the place I would have thought my husband and I would be. My husband’s journey and spirit of David continues to encourage me. We are all a working progress, God’s masterpiece in the making and we all have room to grow.

Most recently, we have been discussing and teaching from “Leap Over a Wall” in our church’s Fusion Young Adult Sunday School class at Solid Rock. It’s amazing to see how much we can all relate to David and learn from him. His story speaks to all of us.

Just look at all that David went through even though He was anointed, He had to go through what we would consider a long wilderness season, trials, temptations and triumphs before He was ready for his divine appointment, purpose and role as leader of a nation and king (2 Samuel 5). While He was going through his prior experience, his perspective, reaction and relationship with God determined the caliber of leader and king He would later become. Please note: He was always a leader at heart even though it was discounted from the very beginning by those around him.  I would say it was his struggles and how he stood and overcame in the midst of those struggles that made him one of the most memorable characters and kings in the Bible and I daresay even today!

Image

(Story behind the picture above: We were blessed to fellowship with some amazing young adults from the Pentecostals of Alexandria and some of their sweet staff last Wednesday)

We will continue our adventures in the Word of God this month in Sunday School and beyond with characters from the Bible (I can’t wait, I’m so excited, can you tell?) and this month’s book  reference is Rick Warren’s “The Purpose Driven Life” What On Earth Am I Here For? Do you know your purpose, how did you come to find it? Was it on your knees in prayer or while you were serving in your local assembly, the church or in your home community?

For more encouragement, you can access an e-book copy of Radiant Pearl in Progress here. We have a contest taking place this month for those readers who leave a review on Amazon and on Radiant Pearl’s Facebook page. Winning reviews will be featured in upcoming publications and the extended-advanced printed copy of Radiant Pearl in Progress that will be made available in stores by June 2014 as informed by the publisher.  You are a radiant pearl in progress and I am excited to encourage you to acknowledge it and be blessed by that fact that God is still working on you, through you and around you.

Image

Leave a Reply

